2023 FILM DIARY

back to present-day

There are 0 entries on this page

12/19/2023

Shallow ramblings bout Kubrick

Watching 2001 the other day has triggered a longing for another Kubrick deep dive. Specifically I am craving to watch Barry Lyndon again. I've seen all Kubrick's movies multiple times, some more than others. Each one gets better each time I watch it.

Eyes Wide Shut I've seen too many times to count. It's so so hard to pick a favorite but that one is up there for me as a comfort watch. Besides 2001 it's the one I watched most recently. Barry Lyndon I've seen maybe 2 or 3 times, but every time I think about it I get super excited and can't wait to make the time to watch it again. It's so gorgeous and funny and dark. The Shining is obviously great but i had my way with it in high school/college. I've seen it way too many times now and I'm comfortable letting that one rest for a good while longer.

I don't watch Lolita much, I've seen it maybe twice. I do think it's excellent but the subject matter is a tough one to endure. Even though I have read the book and seen the 1997 film as well (though i do not recommend that one). Dr. Strangelove brings me sooo much joy but I also have seen that one less than others, probably only 2 or 3 times as well.

Full Metal Jacket is another I've seen far too many times. It's really great and all but I have definitely gotten enough out of it so I will let it rest. Clockwork Orange was a popular one for me in high school as well. I haven't seen it in years now and so I do think I'm due for a revisit after having been burnt out on it for a while. That's another one that can be tough to swallow. I like to suffer though and have read the book twice.

What am I forgetting? Oh! Spartacus. I do really love Spartacus even though it isn't purely Kubrick. Anything else? Ahh Paths of Glory! Another banger, though I've only seen it twice. How did the man really have absolutely zero misses? I'll include that one in my upcoming revisit too.

Ok so upcoming triple feature agenda: Barry, Clockwork, Strangelove. If i'm still up for it i'll follow it up with Paths, Spartacus, and Lolita. That should get me back on track.

12/18/2023

La La Land (2016)

First time seeing this one. It made me cry so hard last night my eyes are all puffy at work today. It was really good! I do sort of wish the songs were more.. singy? If you get what I mean. But it was really a very beautiful movie and I enjoyed it very much.

12/16/2023

Today I went on a musical bender. Lately I've been craving a feel-good flick. Behold this triple feature.

Singin' in the Rain (1952)

This was actually my first time watching this classic. Long overdue. Obviously it lived up to the hype. Loved it.

The Sound of Music (1965)

Talk about long overdue. This was also my first time watching this. I know, I know. People always yell at me when I say I haven't seen it. I'm sorry! It's always been on the agenda and I finally got to it.

The theme of living up to the hype continues. This was a stunning film, but you don't need me to tell you that. I pretty much fell in love from the first frame but it just kept getting better. I understand why you were all yelling. Please forgive me.

Hairspray (2007)

After the other movies I craved something uplifting and familiar. Since it was available on Max, i threw on Grease. A few minutes in I pivoted to what I knew I actually wanted to watch: Hairspray. I had to rent it but I didn't care.

This is one of my favorite movies I think. Every song is so good and it's just so campy and fun and joyful. Definitely altered my brain chemistry when I saw it in the theater at 10. Thank you Zac Efron et al for your serviceee!

12/15/2023

2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

When I got home from work this movie was playing as my bf had turned it on for ambient noise. The monkeys were up so it was basically at the beginning. I sat my ass down and watched, enraptured, every minute til the end. I'd already seen this movie so many times. It absolutely never fails to completely blow me away every time. I understand that this movie is not for everyone and I don't think forcing it on someone resistant will ever make them appreciate it, and that's ok. But it's so good that i get genuinely sad that not everyone experiences it the same way that I do. It evokes in me such primal, inexplicable emotional and phsyical responses. I adore this movie and I always will. It's such a cliche to call this the greatest movie of all time but every time I watch it I have to admit that that's exactly what it is.

12/3/2023

Hackers (1995)

I don't have much to say about this movie. It was cool silly goofy fun I had a great time. As you can see I am not on my movie shit at this point in my life. or my coding shit. I am resting.

10/27/2023

Killers of the Flower Moon

I'm writing this on 10/31. This movie was something beyond sad. Not only did I cry, I couldn't speak for the rest of the night. This is Scorcese at his finest.

Not only was the direction impeccable, the performances were all powerful and impressive. This particular story is a difficult one to behold. My grief at learning this story will never be enough. Watch it if you can.

10/21/2023

The Exorcist (1973)

I've been away! And half-assedly watching movies. None I really care to log. Or even remember right now. I'm actually writing this on 10/24. I was so on top of this for a while.

I did, however, have the pleasure of watching my Favorite Movie, The Exorcist, in an old Presbyterian church. The vibes were almost immaculate.

Almost because I'm annoyed they played the theatrical cut rather than the superior 2000 "Version You've Never Seen". Maybe I'm biased. That's the one I grew up with, have had on DVD since the literal year 2000. But really, Friedkin did what he needed to do with that cut.

I understand that it makes sense to play the theatrical release since it was a 50th anniversary event and that's the cut that's having the anniversary but come on. No spiderwalk scene? No initial scene in the doctor's office where the doctor floats the temporal lobe theory and Reagan has some hilarious moments? Fewer fun subliminals? Smh.

The movie really is so good anyway I'm just obnoxious. But it's how I feel. That's my truth and cross to bear.

10/8/2023

The Grey (2011)

I had been avoiding this movie because it looked really depressing and it was but it was really very good. And definitely depressing. Also scary!

10/7/2023

Willy's Wonderland (2021)

Silly fun FNAF type vibes. Nic Cage never utters a word. I sort of fell asleep by the end but I don't think it's the movie's fault.

10/7/2023

The Sentinel (1977)

This was schlocky Rosemary's Baby ripoff with some of its own charm. Some really fun gore. Ultimately kind of mediocre but I'd recommend to horror fans.

10/4/2023

Luce (2019)

I wasn't sure about this movie at first but it turned out to be really interesting. Explored really odd modern racial and familial dynamics and had the tension and buildup of a thriller with the release of a straight but powerful drama. Octavia Spencer once again ate everybody downnnn. Whole movie was really complex and layered. I think I watched it on HBO.

10/3/2023

The Thing from Another World (1951)

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot."

I finally watched it! The Thing (1982) is one of my all-time favorites and in my opinion indisputably one of the greatest movies ever made. I knew that whatever inspired John Carpenter to do what he did had to be good, and this has been on my list for a long time.

Reading old Roger Ebert reviews is always a trip. This was apparently one of his favorite movies growing up and he felt that the 1982 one didn't live up to his childhood favorite, saying he wanted more out of the characterization. Even though i think The Thing (1982) is a perfect film through and through, now that I've seen the 1951 one I understand what he meant.

The characters themselves had the majority of the focus in this film. They were interesting and really well-written. The sci-fi concepts were really interesting though they were inhibited because the movie itself didn't actulaly seem interested in exploring it.

This movie felt like a litmus test of anti-intellectual attitudes toward science and scientists in the US at the time. While there is The Thing to contend with, it seems the real villain of the story is the commie-coded scientist who insists on meddling where he shouldn't and making things worse for everyone. The word "genius" was used as a pejorative, and there was definitely an heavy implication that there were good normal people and then there were scientists. We were definitely supposed to root for the air-force crew who fully believed that learning more about the creature was stupid and that the best way to get something, anything done is to use bombs and guns. When they found the vessel in the ice, they bombed it to excavate it and then acted all shocked when the ship was destroyed. What did you expect the bomb to do???? And those are the guys the movie truly wants us to see as rational and in the right.

Here's The Thing (hehe): this movie was McCarthyist propaganda. Roger Ebert, you are a schmuck.

For real though I feel like the movie was about as well done as it could've been back in 1951. The monster itself was dumb and blah and ugly and did not include the aspect of being able to take the form of other beings. But the dread and paranoia and fear was really well-done. Which makes sense. That was a feeling most people back then were really familiar with.

The sci-fi aspect where the alien looks humanoid but is made of plant material was interesting but the movie wasn't very interested in fleshing that out beyond establishing that they need to use something other than bullets to kill it. There is such a quintessentially American personality to this film. You can see it in the way they're not shy about tearing the land UP with their bombs and planes.

I'm glad I've seen this movie for the scholarly value (take THAT anti-intellectualists!) but for anyone to say that this is a better movie than Carpenter's? Goofy. Goofy goofy goofy.

Long live the super carrot!

10/1/2023

Ma (2019)

I didn't expect to like this movie as much as I did! the reviews all say it was mediocre but i'd give it a solid 6.5 stars out of 10. It was certainly silly but very effective. Loved the callbacks to Misery and i liked the creative and harrowing violence. Love to see a cautionary tale warning teenagers to distrust the adults that are willing to buy them alcohol. Octavia bodied, as she is wont to do. Good way to start off the official Halloween season. I'm proud of myself for finally starting to catch up on modern horror. I used to be an old classics elitist, but i have grown.

9/30/2023

The Lair of the White Worm (1988)

Weird gross funny halloweeny and profoundly British vampire flick. Watch this for sure if you're freakyyy. Adding this to my Tubi movie generator.

9/29/2023

The Alchemist's Cookbook (2016)

This movie was great. Tough to watch at times, unsettling, surreal, and funny. It involves occult rituals and it would make a great companion to A Dark Song, my previous entry, as they both involve dark magic and came out in 2016 and are both really good. Definitely watch this one.

9/25/2023

A Dark Song (2016)

I don't really have a proper review in me at the moment; i may come back and add one in later.

This movie was really good! It's a really original and sophisticated slow burn involving an intense occult ritual. The majority of the film only has 2 characters and takes place in a single location: an old gothic mansion in the Welsh countryside. Characters felt really real. Writing was strong. Visuals were sparing and interesting. The score was really really good and scary. This movie made me gag and scream and wince. The violence, because it was so sparing, had all the more impact.

I'd recommend this to any horror fan who hasn't seen it yet. Once again I am directing you to the promised land flowing with milk, honey, and an unparalleled selection of fantastic movies for free: Tubi. Pay me Tubi, i love you!!

9/24/2023

Pure White Bitch (2008)

Another indie nugget excavated from the Tubi goldmine. Or maybe it's more like a secret baggie of meth stashed inside a decorative eagle on a messy bedroom dresser. I really can't find much info about this movie online. It seems it was originally released as Cook County and that's what most of the search results show it as, but Pure White Bitch is how I found it on Tubi. I chose this movie not only because of the provocative title, but because it is set in the deep piney woods of East Texas, which is where I went to college and where my partner and his family are from, so I'm familiar with the vibe.

Bad things happen in this movie because people are on meth. (Concept: Meth Movie Marathon! Spun, Winter's Bone, Bug, Pure White Bitch, some choice episodes of Breaking Bad. Click the Agree or Argue button above to go to my chatbox and make a suggestion if you know one!)

This movie is about 3 generations of a family in a remote community in East Texas that has been ravaged by methamphetamine. Like something Harmony Korinne would make a movie about but with a much more sober and straightforward approach to style and content. I don't really feel like giving a plot synopsis but I'll tell you what I think.

The content of the movie approaches exploitation while still maintaining subtlety and more importantly in my opinion, sympathy for the characters it's putting through hell. The balance was really well-done. The writing, acting, casting and cinematography were all really excellent, not just for a low-budget unknown indie movie, but for any movie.

Massive content warning for the copious drug use and for a child in serious physical, emotional, and sexual danger (from which, spoiler alert but I think it's important to note for if you decide to watch: she is thankfully rescued). Think carefully if this type of movie is for you before watching. It is intense. It isn't all doom and gloom by the end but it certainly isn't a feel-good flick.

9/22/2023

Cinnamon (2023)

A Tubi original, the first release under Tubi's Black Noir Cinema banner (according to IMDB) and a total gem. i had a fantastic time with this movie. A highly enjoyable and original neo-noir modern blaxploitation-inspired crime film with harrowing action and really fun and original characters and lots of charm, style, humor, and personality. Not to mention it's got Pam Grier and Damon Wayons. It both feels like a Tubi original while transcending that altogether. This is direct-to-tv cinema at its absolute finest. I love this stuff. Charming from beginning to end, i'm so glad i took a chance on this movie. You should, too!

9/21/2023

Sinister (2012)

I'm writing today sheepishly, humbly. My intention in watching this movie was to remind myself of how much it sucked so i could inaugurate my yet unpublished page dedicated to movies I hate and think are stupid despite popular opinion. Long story short the Haterland launch has been postponed until further notice.

I first saw Sinister about 6 years ago when I was in college, and to say i wasn't impressed at the time would be a major understatement. I was actually viscerally pissed off that I had spent my time on it, that's how much I hated it. I remember thinking it was cliche, generic, unintentionally goofy and too reliant on cheap scares. I had been told it was a classic! I felt cheated.

Since it had been so long I thought it'd only be fair to refresh myself on exactly why i thought Sinister sucked so bad so I could write a really thorough, thoughtful, and ultimately scathing review.

Imagine my surprise when I started this movie with full intention to hate when I found myself immediately impressed with the cinematography and charmed by the exposition.

After seeing a few things I liked mere minutes into the film I pivoted my intention and decided to give the movie a truly fair shake; to erase my preconceptions (omg i was trying to think of that word the other day and i couldn't remember! it just flowed out this time..) and evaluate the movie afresh.

I pride myself in my ability to change my mind when it is warranted, and my method of evaluating films has certainly evolved significantly since my college days. I wouldn't say my standards are necessarily higher, though i do think my taste is much more personal and refined now. Somewhat counterintuitively i would say i have broadened my ability to appreciate films, allowing me to enjoy more of them over time, rather than fewer. That being said, I have done other re-evaluations of movies i previously hated where I ended up re-discovering why i hated it and validating my original opinion, and I kept that in mind as a distinct possibility as i watched on. After all, i have talked a lottt of shit about this movie over the years. Like i said, today I am writing humbly.

I'm not bringing anything new to the table when I say that the atmosphere of eeriness and dread in Sinister is absolutely stellar. The score was really unique and impressive and Ethan Hawke's performance was compelling. I really enjoyed the scenes of him illuminated in the dark setting up the projector and then watching the videos, which I did find genuinely very scary. The fear reflected in Hawke's eyes was what really struck fear into me, rather than the actual content of the videos. Historically i'm not really a fan of found footage--The Blair Witch Project, Paranormal Activity, Cloverfield, and Lake Mungo are all nearly universally beloved movies within the horror community that I've never connected with. It's not even that I discriminate against the genre; my enjoyment of it is just statistically low. In any case, i did find the home video aspect of Sinister to be sufficiently creepy and unsettling. I couldn't complain.

All that being said, I did have a few complaints overall, and i was able to see why the old me didn't like the movie even though the current me was enjoying it. I think the character/makeup/monster design in Sinister was the weakest aspect of the film. i did not like the design of the monster (why was he a member of slipknot?) and I didn't like the makeup on the creepy children, which i did still find to be pretty cliche. Creepy children (especially when they draw pictures) is a trope that generally evokes an eyeroll out of me. it seems so immediately and innately compelling to so many people but it usually comes off as cheap to me, which i think was a major factor in my original hatred for the movie. Even though I had surrendered to genuine enjoyment of the film by this point, i still couldn't totally shake my personal (SUBJECTIVE!!! OK??) disdain for the trope, even though i do think the film ultimately pulled it off.

I mentioned that on my first watch i thought Sinister was overly reliant on cheap jump scares, and my thoughts on that aren't entirely unchanged now but more measured. I do think some of the jump scares in this movie WERE cheap and unnecessary. i think the atmosphere of the film was so stellar and that it would've been stronger with a few edits. Some subtlety, some nuance, in my opinion would've really elevated it. The image of the monster standing in the bushes was funnier to me than scary. And then punctuating it with a jump scare with loud music just felt cheap. i felt that way more than once throughout the movie, and i felt like it was otherwise strong enough to be highly effective without it.

Anyway, the moral of the story is I was actually really impressed with Sinister, which was a really pleasant surprise after expecting to be pissed off the whole time (which is its own kind of fun, to be sure). Now that I am wiser, more seasoned, i agree that Sinister is deservedly a classic and a truly scary movie, even if I would personally make a few edits. I love that I've changed in a way that allows me to enjoy a thing i didn't before, and now I'll be able to join my community in appreciation for this movie.

Sinister, i'm truly sorry for all the shit I've talked over the years. You didn't deserve that.

9/18/2023

The Pope's Exorcist (2023)

This was a silly movie, but at least it was earnest. That being said though, it sucked bad. The vibe was like if James Wan had retooled The Exorcist? Don't even get me started on how I feel about James Wan movies.. (HATERLAND COMING SOON) The demon really loved to just, sit in bed. There weren't any restraints that I could see until the end when he was able to easily break free of them. The things that the demon would say through the little boy for shock value were milder than anything a real, unpossessed little boy that age might say to his friends over voice chat on fortnite. The CGI was unfortunate. Remember 2007's I Am Legend? That kind of vibe. big stretched shitty looking mouths. Someone melted into cartoon lava at one point. They tried to hint at the phsycological and faith themes that were in The Exorcist but they spent most of the effort on goofy action and explosions. Russell Crowe is on his zoom and in his bag. That's probably where the CGI budget went. There was a lot of RAAHHHH. You'll see what I mean if you watch, which i don't necessarily recommend unless you're like me and watch unremarkably bad movies for the scholarly value. I do appreciate that it just committed to its silliness rather than lampshading it and making wry jokes reminding you that you're watching a movie. See? I'm firm but fair.

9/13/2023

Wisegirls (2002) dir. David Anspaugh

IMDB

Mina. Mariah. Melora. Mayhem.

My 2002 agenda is paying off sooooo hard.

Wisegirls is a crime drama thriller staring Mina Sorvino, MARIAH FREAKIN CAREY (darling, light of my life), and Melora Walters.

Mina's character, Meg, has a mysterious past and is trying to start over and get on her feet. She gets a job at an italian restaurant and, if you couldn't guess by the title, gets involved with the mob.

Wisegirls never had a theatrical release, premiering at Sundance and then releasing later that year on HBO and Cinemax. It does have a sort of made-for-tv quality (some of the cuts definitely felt like commerical breaks) but I felt like that was part of its charm. There is a cheese factor, but ultimately the performances were strong (Mariah, an absolute vision, particularly shone), the plot was compelling and original, and the action was thrilling and did not pull back.

I think i liked everything about this movie. This is another one for the girlypops. I'm loving this roll I'm on. Once again, you can find Wisegirls on Tubi. i swear, Tubi should fucking sponsor me.

Watched 9/12/2023

Chemical Peel (2014) dir. Hank Braxtan

IMDB

There's nothing to usher in the fall quite like a brutal, bloody B-movie. Once again, Tubi has the heat.

Chemical Peel is about a group of women having a bachelorette party in a house in a somewhat remote valley when a mysterious fog descends upon them which causes terrible chemical burns and illness, trapping them inside. The director Hank Braxtan seems to be prolific in the B-horror genre, which such prestigious titles under his belt as Snake Outta Compton.

The drama is that one of the women was recently the driver in a car accident which killed the teen sister of the woman getting married. Though I understand being upset about her sister dying, miss redhead was more than a bit of a cunt about it, and about other things. The script was bare and even at times a bit silly, but there was something about it that just worked for me. There were some great comedic beats and the pacing was a little unorthodox and it took a moment for me to grow accustomed, though I ended up really appreciating it. The budget was only $20k! Can you believe it? Well, probably, but they managed to body the effects anyway.

I chose the movie because the premise reminded me of Cabin Fever (2003) which is a movie I LOVE, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the body-horror completely lived up to that standard. The dynamic of all these women together in a horrific situation with their interpersonal drama (involving car accidents and boyfriend-stealing and general cuntery) also reminded me of The Descent (2005), one of my all-time holy-grail favorites.

All in all I found a lot to like about this movie, despite the general consensus I've gathered from reviews which is that the movie is at-times entertaining but ultimately mediocre. As a self-identified horror connoisseur and snob I disagree that the movie was not entertaining enough to be considered ultimately successful. I do suspect there could an element of misogyny at play in the movie's reception among the b-horror community.

This one is for the girlypops.

9/10/2023

Old Yeller (1957)

Bessst doggone doggg in the wesssst fr fr! Revisited an old childhood favorite I hadn't seen since I was really, really little. It was exactly as didn't remember I remembered it. I accidentally had my emotional release at the beginning of the movie when i first laid eyes on Old Yeller and that sweet little song was playing. i wept and wept. Then by the time the actual sad part came around I had already made peace with it. Pretty good movie though I do have questions about the animal safety policies. They had that little boy wrestle a baby bear.. among other crazy things. I don't think I'd show this one to my kids if I ever have them. It's not their burden to bear, just mine.

9/8/2023

Planet of the Apes (2001)

I sort of expected this movie to be less than stellar but as a fan of fun sci-fi and the old Planet of the Apes films I was down for a y2k era effects-fest directed by none other than Tim Burton. I was not prepared for how truly dismal this movie was. The script was not only generic, but idiotic. If it hadn't come out in 2001 I'd have assumed someone used a first draft generated by chat gpt from a mediocre prompt. It's insane to see Helena Bonham carter in her ape makeup and spiky little 2001 city-girl-next-door hairstyle trying to sell the unsubtle moronic drivel that was that script. Mark Wahlberg was insufferable as ever, not a thought behind those eyes. Paul Giamatti and Tim Roth were doing their best to bring some interest with their strong character work but I'm afraid nothing could save it. It was a B-movie in none of the good ways, but with a blockbuster budget. Also they reeeeally thought they did something with the helment design but wow were the costumes uninspired and just blahhh an shitty. I'm not even a Tim Burton stan like that, he is pretty hit or miss with me, though I generally consider him a competent filmmaker even if I don't enjoy some of the movies (I'm looking at you, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) but this was a true blunder. I did enjoy the DVD menu, though. I got the 2 disc edition with 13 hours of special features. I'll probably dig into that soon. I need to know more about how this trainwreck came to be.

9/2/2023

Civil Brand (2002)

Lately my strategy with deciding what to watch is choosing/prioritizing movies specifically from 2002. It just feels right for the moment. I did not know what i was in for when I selected Civil Brand from the Leaving Soon section of Tubi (the BEST streaming platform and I've always said this) to start my saturday morning.

This movie is provocative, stylized, political, earnest, touching, and almost too devastating to bear. The story follows a group of women in a private prison, and shows their bonds with each other and the myriad of abuses and horrors they are subjected to inside.

There is a strong theme in the film of showing how prisons running for profit is a breeding ground for incomprehensible abuse and exploitation. Of challenging the prison industrial complex.

Aesthetically, i loved that it felt very sober and gritty like a movie from the 70's (my favorite era for films). The acting and character work were stellar. Cast was star-studded. It's a really well-made film by a black woman about black women.

This movie needs a massive trigger warning. The violence against the women in this movie was genuinely more sickening and upsetting than anything I've seen in any other film, and I have seen a lot of horror movies.

In fact, this movie wasn't classified as horror but I would describe it that way. Even the music cues at times definitely evoked horror more than anything else. I wouldn't recommend watching this first thing on a saturday morning like I did.

i have truly never been so devastated by a movie, and I will never be the same.

8/23/2023

The Jerk (1979)

I see why this is a classic. I can't believe I hadn't already seen it! Glad to have it under my belt now.

8/22/2023

Flesh+Blood (1985)

Oh this was darkkkk. Paul Verhoeven is a menace to society. That being said, excellent movie. I'm a sucker for medieval stuff. Super disturbing. I don't necessarily recommend unless you like shock. Be warned fr it's not a challenge.

8/18/2023

Oppenheimer (2023)

Ok please don't call me a film bro but I liked this movie. Didn't check the runtime in the theater once. Oppenheimer the man was kind of an idiot.

8/4/2023

Death to Smoochy (2002)

weird. liked it!

8/3/2023

Powder (1995)

Incredible. unwatchable.